top of page

Moe Moe Khine

Updated: Oct 13, 2020

'I really hope being a part of Mang Tha and INKAA would give me a better condition for me and my children'

My name is Moe Moe Khine and I am 29 years old. I am originally from the province of Matupi Chin State, West of Myammar. I arrived in Malaysia with my brother back in 2012.

Back in Myammar, my brother and I were often forced to carry military equipments for the army. If we decide to not do what they asked, we would get punched and bullied. The problem is that, when we work for the army, we do not have time to clean the house, take care of the kids, or work in the fields to feed our family. That is why we fled. Our parents asked us to leave for Malaysia for a better future. Both my parents are already old, and my dad has passed away while I am here in Malaysia due to tuberculosis.

I met my husband here in Malaysia and we have two children together. Since I grew up in the countryside of Myammar, I did not have any access to education. But for my children, I feel that they have a better opportunity to get educated and improve their chances in life. I still hope that we can move to another country, where we have basic rights and my children can attend a proper school that I think they deserve.

I just joined Mang Tha one year ago, starting with sewing classes. Previously, I worked in a restaurant and also a small shop. I used to work 6 days a week, 9 hours per day, for a monthly salary of RM1,100. I decided to quit after three years because they never improve my working conditions nor raise my salary. I did not have any contract or security. However, I learned how to cook and calculate from these jobs. I really hope being a part of Mang Tha and INKAA would give me a better condition for me and my children.


Recent Posts

See All




bottom of page